Apr 30th, 2021

Portsmouth Mayor Shannon Glover and other Hampton Roads Leaders endorse Andria McClellan for Lieutenant Governor

These leaders join Congresswoman Elaine Luria, Norfolk Mayor Kenneth Alexander and more than 30 others in Endorsing Councilmember McClellan

Councilmember Andria McClellan, who is seeking the Democratic nomination for Virginia Lieutenant Governor, today announced new endorsements from the Hampton Roads region, a critical part of the Commonwealth in the primary contest. New endorsements from Hampton Roads are as follows: 

  • Shannon Glover, Mayor of Portsmouth
  • Sabrina Wooten, Virginia Beach Councilwoman
  • Dr. Amelia Ross-Hammond, Former Virginia Beach City Councilwoman
  • Marty Kaszubowski, Entrepreneur, Former Chair, Hampton Roads Tech Incubator
  • Dan Bell, Regional Technology Council Leader

“I am proud to have widespread support in the Hampton Roads region,” said Councilmember Andria McClellan. “I have committed the last two decades to supporting working families, tackling climate change and growing our small business community in the 757. I look forward to bringing my unique perspective to Richmond and representing every Virginian as Lieutenant Governor.”

These community leaders join a diverse coalition of leaders in Hampton Roads who are supporting Andria McClellan for Lieutenant Governor: 

  • Elaine Luria, U.S. Congresswoman (VA-02) 
  • Kenneth Alexander, Mayor of Norfolk
  • Lynwood Lewis, Virginia Senator (SD-100)
  • Steve Heretick, Virginia Delegate (HD-79)
  • Molly Ward, Treasurer of Hampton, former Virginia Secretary of Natural Resources, former Hampton Mayor
  • Lisa Lucas-Burke, Portsmouth Councilwoman
  • Paul Riddick, Norfolk City Councilman, Ward 4
  • Tommy Smigiel, Norfolk City Councilman, Ward 5
  • George Schaefer, Norfolk Clerk of Court
  • Joe Baron, Norfolk Sheriff 
  • Dr. Noelle Gabriel, Norfolk School Board member
  • Guy Tower, Virginia Beach Councilman 
  • Ruth Larson, James City County Commissioner 
  • Tiffany Boyle, Newport News Commissioner of Revenue
  • Dr. Patricia King, Chesapeake School Board member
  • Bobby Mathieson, former Virginia Delegate (HD-21), former United States Marshal for the Eastern District of Virginia, Virginia Beach
  • Joe Bouchard, former Delegate (HD-83), Captain, U.S. Navy (ret.), Virginia Beach
  • Cheryl Turpin, former Virginia Delegate (HD-85), Virginia Beach
  • Dr. Terry Whibley, former Norfolk City Councilmember 
  • Ben Davenport, former Virginia Beach Councilman
  • Jody Wagner, former candidate for Mayor of Virginia Beach, former Virginia Secretary of Finance, former candidate for Lieutenant Governor, small business owner
  • Ulysses Turner, former Chairman, Norfolk Public School Board
  • Joseph Reynes, Major General, U.S. Air Force (ret.), Norfolk
  • Paul Olsen, Colonel, U.S. Army (ret.), former Commander of the Norfolk District, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Poquoson
  • Dave Belote, Colonel, U.S. Air Force (ret.), Former State Senate candidate, Virginia Beach
  • Butch Bracknell, Lt. Colonel, U.S. Marine Corp (ret.), Norfolk
  • Nicole Carry, U.S. Navy veteran, 1st Vice Chair of the Virginia Veterans Services Foundation, Norfolk
  • Paul Hirschbiel, former Democratic nominee for Virginia’s 2nd US House district, founder of the Democratic Business Alliance of South Hampton Roads, Virginia Beach
  • Rick James, former candidate for Virginia Delegate (HD-90), Norfolk Community Leader
  • Brandon Hutchins, Member of Virginia Redistricting Commission, Navy Veteran, and former Virginia Beach City Council candidate
  • Earl Fraley, Chair, Norfolk Planning Commission
  • Ramona Austin, Member of Norfolk Planning Commission, Norfolk Public Arts Commission 
  • Patricia Braknell, Member of the Norfolk Mayor’s Commission on Social Equity and Economic Opportunity 

Join the A‑Team

Or Chip in $5 Today